l i g h t room

Word(s) . Light . Life

Being Me

6 Comments

daisy-405166-wallsave.com

Time’s taken too much
Bulldozing through years
Cellular, clinically cold
Pushing me flat out of breath
And at the end of the day
What’s gained but clichés?
Therefore, I’m stubborn as a daisy
Pressing through hard soil
I say, give me earth, sea, sky
Let me catch the khee-whee
Of a single red-winged blackbird
Just let me bloom against the grain
And finding myself, let me be myself

© 2014 S. Michaels
Flatlander
image: wallsave.com

Author: LightWriters

Life. Faith. Wellness.

6 thoughts on “Being Me

  1. I love the title, and the urgency, humility and beauty reflected in the words of this poem. I also admire the tenacity displayed here, Susan. Yes, learning is indeed a humbling and gratifying experience.

  2. Beautiful words. ‘Into ordinary times and places’. Yes.

  3. Beautiful poem – and I just LOVE your pictures!

  4. Thank you so much for stopping by at my blog, for reading my post and for the like which now link me to your awesome blog. May no one cross his hands on your way of success in the name of Jesus Christ.

  5. Brilliant….and here’s to escaping into freedom, away from well worn cliches!

Leave a Reply

