l i g h t room

Word(s) . Light . Life

Green Grackle Days

7 Comments

summer, picstopin.com

Green grackle days

Wide awake at dawn

Blackbird’s chirr-ee’ing

Red-wing songs.

Prairie sky-blues bluer

Strawberry fields sweet

Cat tails waving tall

Picnic baskets deep.

Rivers drift asleep

Fishing by the brook

Catching July dreams

Baiting every hook.

Slurping ice cream

Summer days sung

Clothes hung to dry

Winds soft as down.

Taking time slowly

Soaking up warm sun

Peaceful summer days

Treasured, one by one.

© 2013 S. Michaels
Green Light Diary

Author: LightWriters

Faith child. Poet. Photo-buff.

7 thoughts on “Green Grackle Days

  1. I so love the imagery of catching July dreams.

  2. Such a summery delight, Susan! Thanx. 🙂

  3. Thank you so much, and glad that this poem brought relaxation and joy!

  4. Loved this! I’m a big fan of poetry and I write poems as well, and it makes me so glad to see that people still embrace that beautiful art!! I was just taking a break from some studies when I saw this and it made me relax and took me to a world where everything is relaxed. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

