l i g h t room

Word(s) . Light . Life

The Swing

8 Comments

by degrees
she earned wings
figured out how
transient lessons
rippled in waves
and on the swing
she felt closer
a child again
no longer facing
pressures to save
the world or prove
only artful balance
lifting with updrafts
storms daring life
to wing as a bird
against the grain
winds floating her
eventually to earth
weightless grace
on air-filled lungs
prayers barefoot
skipping her home

© 2012 S. Michaels
Breakaway – Spreading Wings

Author: LightWriters

Faith child. Poet. Photo-buff.

8 thoughts on “The Swing

  1. Memories of childhood friend whose dad hung a swing on the limb of what appeared, to me at least, to be a HUGE tree in their backyard! My joy was found in soaring higher and higher, feeling lighter and lighter. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  2. I felt as light as air reading this, letting go of every care. Thank you.

  3. Thank you Susan, I Love this. Thank you for liking my post “Amusement Park”, I’m now following you : ) Blessings! In Him, Lourdes

  4. So beautiful, Susan! 🙂

  5. The wonders of swinging experiences! Such a light, delicate capture of these emotions, despite their depth. Gravitating read, Susan.

  6. Thanks so much, Kate! 🙂

  7. Oh Susan. I REALLY REALLY love this one. Wow. I think my favorite part is the last 10 lines. brought tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

