l i g h t room

Word(s) . Light . Life

Skye’s Promise

2 Comments


Fairest isle, please wait fer me
Draw me bak, en yer ane happy arms
By Portree’s bricht harbour let me be
Blaw’n en by winds ow fair n’ bonny
An let me niver be like tha’ knave prince
Charlie, wha’ scupper’d thae guid clans
Wi’ Culloden’s crimson on his hands
Let me niver ken betrayal an sadness
Nae, own’ly let me be luv’d an free
By yer seas, wi yer smiles, en yer clear light
Let me ken weel agin yer ev’ry swee’ promise
Draw me bak soon, blue bonny shores

© 2011 S. Michaels
Alba Songs

Author: LightWriters

Life. Faith. Wellness.

2 thoughts on “Skye’s Promise

  1. Susan, when I read your poems, I can feel the nature as if I were in the scene. Thank you for sharing.

    • hey, thanks so much, Dicky. The poems on Scotland are written with humility, and are simply a ‘traveler’s’ viewpoint. Scotland fascinates and captures my imagination with its incredibly rich landscape and history. It’s an awesome place to visit! You might also enjoy reading about its cultural history if that’s of interest to you. One book I’ve heard is great about Scotland is: How the Scots Invented the Modern World, by Arthur Herman.

Leave a Reply

